Sunday, January 12, 2014
Vegan & Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Almond Butter Brownies
I started Kitchen La Boheme in 2010, a year after I turned 30. I'm not sure which is more to blame—my becoming the founder of a food blog or hitting that milestone birthday—but pretty soon, I started to notice some changes. Suddenly my clothing started to feel a little snug...
It's no surprise that over-indulging in the leftovers after each food shoot contributed to some weight gain. Pure vegetarian treats are no different than any other treat, and the purpose of KLB has always been to prove to naysayers that a cruelty-free, environmentally friendly meal sans meat and dairy can be just as luxurious and tasty as it's more traditional counterpart; not to create an ultra-strict diet blog. But somewhere along the line I realized a change was in order.
In general, I've always been prone to excess. I never pass up dessert. And while I stick to recipes that are pure vegetarian, I'm not exactly of the deprive yourself mindset. I want everyone to feel like giving up meat and dairy isn't even worth a second thought, it's that easy and delicious.
So yeah, I'm not about to go all hardcore on you and start serving up recipes for plain granola and dry salads. But I do know that I can begin eating even better and incorporating more of that into the recipes I post here, starting with dessert.
The brownies in this recipe came about because I wanted to create something sweet without a whole lot of flour. Better yet... How about no flour? Turns out almond butter and flax meal "eggs" work together with cocoa to yield some of the best brownies I've had in a long time. Not only are they melt-in-your-mouth and pure veg, they're also gluten free—the perfect go-to when you want something sweet and a little more guilt-free.
I whipped up a boozy blackcurrant compote to accompany the brownies when I shot them, and while it adds some sugar, this would be a fantastic way to serve them at a dinner party or other gathering. No one would ever know that they're flourless and eggless.
A note on gluten free and alcohol:
All distilled spirits are gluten free—the gluten is left behind in the distillation process—as long as they are not flavored with something that contains wheat, rye or barley (malt).
Photography and styling by Alyssa. Photos ©Alyssa Yeager
Posted by Alyssa Yeager at 5:43 PM